The Sea

November 13, 2008 § 11 Comments

She looks ethereal as she walks towards the sea in the dark misty night. The sea is her source of peace andย  strength. Her solace. The sand caresses her bare aching feet. She is tired but in the end it is worth it, it always is. She is alone and yet… not. The elements surround her, welcoming her, recognising her. The wind rustles her dress, plays with her hair, sending it tumbling down her back, loosening it from its carefully put-in pins, but she does she really care? She embraces nature with a soft smile.

Lifting the hem of her white dress slightly, she steps into the first hint of water. A pleasant sigh escapes her lips. She closes her dark eyes shut, her smile widening. This is what she loves. Standing here, away from the hustle and bustle of life. The water keeps on coming and going, playing with her feet. She has long forgotten to hold her dress up, not caring if it dirties or becomes wet. By now, the wind has played havoc with her hair, sending it flying everywhere. She stands there, listening to the sea singing it’s own special melody.

But she must go back. She cannot stay here forever. She must face the harsh realities of life. She turns around and with a last longing look at the sea, she grudgingly makes her way back.

Until next time.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 11 Responses to The Sea

  • Saadat says:

    ๐Ÿ™‚

    I once read a story in which the female protagonist called her village a “service station”, where she would stop the car of her life to take a breather.

    ‘The Sea’ reminded me of that.

  • farooqk says:

    ๐Ÿ˜€

    yeh koee hot bacheee thee? ๐Ÿ˜›

  • farooqk says:

    There’s no sensation to compare with this
    Suspended animation, A state of bliss
    Can’t keep my eyes from the circling skies
    Tongue-tied and twisted just an earth-bound misfit, I

    this little piece of yours reminds me of this great floyd song. Damn, i so want to feel free right now :S

  • Saadat, whats the name of the book/story? We all need a breather from life sometimes. Sigh.

    Farooq: lol, should’ve expected you to ask that question! Well, she can actually be whatever I want her to be. I love the fictional world… or is she actually fictional? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Well, if God didn’t have Paradise and Hell, this life would have been perfect and free of any restraints, rules and regulations. But ah, this is life. Gotta deal with it. :S

  • farooqk says:

    lol so you wrote a fictional piece about yourself? ๐Ÿ˜›

  • Saadat says:

    Oh, I read it in some magazine. Don’t even remember the name of the author.

  • ON says:

    I joined my school because it overlooks the beach. The first time I went there to collect my form, I swear, I had no idea what I was getting into. I just saw the blue blur from the stairs, and thought, hey this is where I want to be. Alhamdulillah He heard me. There have been times when I want to have a house by sea, but it should be a private beach, where you wouldn’t have to think about hijabs and jilbabs and stuff. White is such a beautiful colour, it merges with blue (in regard to her dress!)
    I answered to your question my blog:)

  • ON, I would love to live by the sea.

    I know, I liked her dress too ๐Ÿ˜›

    Oh, actually, you should come down here sometime! There is actually a beach which becomes only for Women on Mondays. Considering this is an Arab/Muslim country, they make it very Hijabi friendly, the first time my friend took me there, i was in shock and awe. I hadn’t been to a beach [without Hijab/Abaya] in yearssss. alhamdulilah.

  • thanks for answering it! :)) jazakallahkhair, May Allah reward you for your sabr. Ameen. Maybe I should share mine too sometime. ๐Ÿ™‚

  • An ILLuS|On says:

    loved reading it..even for me,sea is the last bastion of peace & serenity: )

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Sea at Her Writings.

meta

