Dhul-Hijjah

December 4, 2008 § 7 Comments

If you aren’t already aware [And taking advantage of it], do so now.

We are currently in the first ten days of dhul hijjah, and the reward in this month is the greatest.

The Prophet Sallalahu alayhi wasallam said, as narrated by Ibn ‘Abbaas (may Allaah be pleased with him): “There are no days on which righteous deeds are more beloved to Allaah then these ten days – i.e., ten days of Dhu’l-Hijjah).” They said: “O Messenger of Allaah, not even jihad for the sake of Allaah?” He said: “Not even jihad for the sake of Allaah, unless a man goes out himself with his wealth and does not come back with anything (i.e., he expends all his wealth and is martyred).” Narrated by al-Bukhaari, 969.

It is recommended to fast these days, and a Sunnah as the Prophet sallalahu alayhi wasallam did so. If you can’t fast for whatever reason, step up all your other good deeds because we need all the ajar we can get for who knows when the Angel of Death can be at your doorstep.

Also, these ten days contain the day of Arafah, which will fall on the 7th of this month. Fasting the day of Arafah will expiate sins of two years.

Abu Qatadah (May Allah be pleased with him) reported: The Messenger of Allah (PBUH) was asked about the observance of Saum (fasting) on the day of `Arafah. He said, “It is an expiation for the sins of the preceding year and the current year.” [Muslim].

On a side note, I guess it was written for us to visit Karachi on Eid. My Cousin just got our seats done today although we’d cancelled it. Will be leaving on the 8th InshaAllah. KW & ON, expect e-mails from me soon. 🙂 I hope I can meet up with everyone! In Karachi, there are too many people to meet and not enough time.

Anyway, I’m looking forward to the halwa poori breakfasts, the coffee by Sea-view, the cousin outings [Although I’m not sure about these anymore considering the ‘halaat’] and late-night gatherings. Not to mention, my neice and nephew who I’m absolutely going crazy to see! I hope we also go to hawksbay, but I’m not sure how many things we’ll be able to cramp into a few days. [I’m planning to come back around the 15th of Dec].

Things I’m not looking forward to:

– Aunties [Have you put on weight? Are you looking to get married… Oh not yet? I have a Son… So you wear Hijab everywhere? What are you currently doing back there? And the list goes on…]

– The whole Hijab/Abaya/Niqab issue

– The current environment in K-City

– Dinners and never ending parties by relatives

– Stomach indigestion 😦


Tagged:

§ 7 Responses to Dhul-Hijjah

  • Safiullah says:

    Become a recluse like me and those aunties won’t even dare to ask a question (but talk about you behind your back, “I heard he spent a brief stint at a mental institution”, hehe)

    And LOL at stomach indigestion…. Ya Allah! I m going to miss food here.

  • lol, I *cant* become a recluse in Karachi, circumstances like Family Eid Dinners and/or weddings make it very very hard not to.

    lol @ mental institution! haha.

    I like the food here, but i need to be careful about what I eat and how much I eat. My stomach has a hard time adjusting to err karachi food. [It probably goes into a state of shock :P]

  • karachiwali says:

    looking forward to meeting you 🙂

  • Same here! 😛 I hope our plan to meet doesn’t go flop. [Inshallah]

  • An ILLuS|On says:

    Jazak’Allah for sharing: )
    Have a safe trip & insha’Allah everything would be alright..try making the most of this vacation & have fun.
    I’m also leaving for Pakistan & that too around 8th or so..i’m so excited *can’t wait:S
    Despite the fact that I won’t be attending parties & going out some where or even trying out the halwa poories..still can’t wait to be there..anyhoo you have fun & give a damn about pricky aunties & their crap.

  • wa iyyak : )

    Haha, thanks. We’re going crazy packing now considering it was done all of a sudden. Why not?? I’m assuming because of the ‘halaat’? Yeah well, half of the things im looking forward too won’t happen either.

    Have a safe trip too inshaAllah!

  • An ILLuS|On says:

    nahh its ain’t coz of ‘halaat’ as such..at our side its somewhat peaceful..i haven’t done any packing but i’m not in any hurry either..hojae gi;)
    anyhoo have a safe trip..cheers:)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Dhul-Hijjah at Her Writings.

meta

