A trip to K-City

December 6, 2008 § 13 Comments

So I have a flight for Karachi on the 8th of December for the evening. I thought I’d be excited [I’m going after a few years], but surprisingly my excitement has sort of died down. I think it was the whole process of, ‘Oh we’re going! … No, we’re not! Ok-ay, we’re going again! But… no seats! Wait, seats might get done… might not… might get done… might not… might get done… Names in the waiting list… Are we going?.. Final verdict by the Parents: We’re not going! It’s not safe enough – Enough is enough… Cousin Calls – seats are done!’

We had four different people trying in two different parts of the World for our seats. I just realised how much Karachiites must love their city, the flights are all freaking packed!

Our house is a mess, or more appropriately according to my Mom, ‘A Jungle or a bhangar khaana’. There are suitcases strewn here and there, the dining hall has turned into our packing area and there are clothes in literally every room in the house. [Ok-ay, maybe not the kitchen or the bathrooms], but well, you get the picture. This is what happens when we do ‘rushed packing’. Not to mention, 8th of December is Eid here!!!

My Sister is leaving tomorrow because her seat got done for the 7th as there were no more seats available for the 8th.

I feel that I have *so* much to do but I don’t know where to start. 😦 I think I stress for no particular reason about every itsy bitsy little thing. I think more so now because I wasn’t prepared for this particular trip and was planning to spend Eid here. My hennas not done [Although that should be the least of my worries right now], and I won’t get time to get it done in Karachi, because we’re going to reach there at night but I doubt Qurtuba do midnight henna. Heh.

I probably like a stupid ditzy female worrying about Henna when I have a bucket load of work to do, but whatever.

I’m nearly done with my packing, i don’t need to keep a lot anyway considering nearly all my shalwar kameez are already in Pak, just need to keep a more skirts/t-shirts and I’m going to for a little last minute shopping for a pair of jeans the mall with my Sister in the morning and see if I can get a few gifts too for the cousins. [And you’re probably thinking, what in the world is she going getting Western clothing to Pakistan?Well, ladies and gentlemen, the advantage of wearing an Abaya/Hijab is that no-one knows what you’re wearing inside! ;)]


And to be honest, it’s way more comfortable then handling shalwar kameez. Shalwar Kameez is the way to go if you’re in Karachi and other parts of Pakistan, however wearing an Abaya gives you the benefit of wearing whatever you want. Although, God Forbid Aunties get a peak of what you’re wearing inside! Too many times I’ve heard the ignorant comments of, ‘Oh she’s a Hijabi and she wears Western Clothing’.

Although 1) I always wear an Abaya everywhere, including here and recently in Pakistan too – and if not, i’m in SK and I have a chador perfectly draped around with an added Hijab if i’m in Pakland.

2) The only time they see me without it and Hijab is when it’s all girls – so Islamically I’m not exactly sinning, but who is going to tell that to ignorant aunties?! [Aunties who don’t cover themselves but like to criticise others!]

3) You can actually get away with being modest and wearing Western clothing at the same time. In fact, when I’d initially started out with Hijab [Just the headscarf] I’d colour combinate it with all my skirts/dresses/tops. However, no matter how decent you look even with Hijab, Western clothing isn’t exactly the best option in some parts of Pakistan. I guess every place and country has what is ‘acceptable’ and what is not ‘acceptable’, regardless of religion or anything else.

Anyway, before this turns into another post about Aunties I’m going to give it an end. I can feel the excitement build up again… I just spoke to my cousins, and they’re already planning a halwa pouri nashta. πŸ˜‰ It’s not halwa pouri Im exactly excited about, but the re-union!

Tagged: , ,

§ 13 Responses to A trip to K-City

  • farooqk says:

    where’s the summary? πŸ˜›

  • Hira S says:

    Of course they do midnight henna! It’s one of the greatest things about chaand raat!
    And if you can’t find any place near Qurtaba you can always go to Karimabad or Aashiyana. They’re open all night.

  • farooq: nooo, not again. Uff, this is like the last summary im going to post.

    -I’m finally going to karachi : p
    -Im going crazy packing
    -I had mehendi issues [which are sorted now]
    -Aunties, Hijab & western clothing

    Hira: Really?? The whole night? Khair, I already got it sorted out, i got it done here today because i realised it would’ve been too much of a hassle considering i arrive in karachi around 11/12 karachi time, so its gonna be late. Btw, how is aashiyanas henna and other stuff? I’ll check it out inshallah.

  • easypie says:

    He he Karachi never sleeps , especially the nights before eid.

    And if anyone needs this in the future

    http://www.karachisnob.com/bridal_make-up_hair_beauty_salons_karachi.htm

    (There is a LONG story behind the reason why i have that link btw)

  • Saadat says:

    You think that a reunion is more exciting than a halwa-poori nashta?

    Okay, well, maybe it is.

    Have a good time in Karachi then. Eid Mubarak! πŸ™‚

  • karachiwali says:

    dont worry about the aunties. if youl start wearing shalwar kameez, they’l have something else to comment on.

    and eid mubarak! πŸ™‚

  • lol, thanks guys. Khair mubarak. I just arrived in karachi a couple of hours ago. Karachiwali I’ll get in touch with you soon inshallah πŸ™‚ [as asoon as im unpacked and rested a bit]

    saadat, well πŸ˜› the re-union *happens* at a halwa poori nashta πŸ˜‰ so its not exactly the food that im crazy about, but the getting together of the cousins. [And the havoc that ensues after that ;)]

    The tailor didn’t stitch my eid jora! :(((( But i guess this is karachi, sigh.

    easypie: welcome to the blog πŸ™‚ lol thanks for the pic! i always think desi brides have far too much make up on at times though, not getting caked on weddings is the way forward. πŸ˜›

  • easypie says:

    [Quote]The tailor didn’t stitch my eid jora! :(((( But i guess this is karachi, sigh.[/quote]

    Its better than him stitching it in time and making a mistake

  • Hira S says:

    Like what my mum’s tailor did. He stiitched her jora in my size. Not that i had a problem with that πŸ˜€

  • well hoenstly, hes better then our previous ones. He actually makes them fine, but happened was, i got someone to buy and give mine to him 3/4 days ago because we were coming to karachi a day before Eid [over here]. And he didn’t give my moms either which we sent my sister two days earlier.

    But the thing was, he said he’d ^do’ them, and then he gave them back last minute. So we basically were unprepared. but khair, alhamdulilah, women are never short on clothes. πŸ˜›

    hira, haha, thats happened with us quite often too.

  • what happened was*
    with my sister*

  • Awais karim says:

    i think you are a girl who likes to plan things….so haven’t u heard anything about “Plan B” and “Plan C”. Start working on them and i can bet u will get more relaxed.

    I hope u had a wonderful time in karachi..

  • so far its been wonderfully pleasant. πŸ™‚

    haha, well i tend to fluctuate. Sometimes Im very organised and at other times im carelessly unorganised.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A trip to K-City at Her Writings.

meta

