A little break

January 4, 2009 § 41 Comments

I’m going to be away for a little while. No, nothing to worry about, just one of my phases where I don’t exactly feel like blogging – and besides, I need some time off, I’ve gotten drastically busy but at the same time undisciplined. I need to be more disciplined with my time.

I’ll be back though inshaAllah whenever I need to rant/rave again. πŸ˜€

I’d actually intended to write a post on Riba & the Sunni Perspective on Yazid and Muawiyah. In fact, the second one is sitting half complete in my drafts – but I’m too lazy to complete.

And, I’ve decided against it, especially after I read SAWJ’s little post which caused a complete ruckus. And somehow, that ruckus also ended on my blog . πŸ˜› And I felt the need to post a post regarding it. I usually don’t get into Sunni & ShiΓ­te debates. At all. They are a waste of time as either side is so firm on what they believe in that there is no point in arguing about it. It creates nothing but fitna – so I decided against posting it altogether.

Just a couple of little reminders before I depart:

This is the month of Muharram. A sacred month where in fasting has more reward then normal voluntary fasting. The Mu’min never fails to take advantage where he or she can increase their chance to earn the pleasure of Allah. It is Winter, the nights are long to be used for Dhikr and the days are short to be used for fasting. And sin in this month is more punishable then compared to other months.

In this month is the Day Of Ashurra, where in fasting that day expiates sins for a year.

The Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: β€œFasting the day of β€˜Arafah I hope Allaah will expiate thereby for the year before it and the year after it, and fasting the day of β€˜Ashoora’ I hope Allaah will expiate thereby for the year that came before it.” Narrated by Muslim, 1162.

Thirdly, As Muslims, we need to become more united as an Ummah instead of bickering about incessant topics which will bring us no benefit. We need to rise as a nation and hold on to the rope of Allah to become the Ummah that has the characteristics of, ‘doing good and forbidding evil’.

Anyway, this is an end to my post. I’m around obviously. You all know where to contact me if important. πŸ™‚

§ 41 Responses to A little break

  • farooqk says:

    i didnt know you went raving too! i thought u were one of the good kids!! πŸ˜›

  • πŸ˜‰ I guess you thought wrong.

  • An ILLuS|On says:

    Suit yourself..please don’t get into that debate of Yazid/Muawiyya issue..I had enough of that at SAWJ’s blog..was too biased/lame & it completely blew outa proportion..lets keep this place nice & quiet shall we?
    But in the end the choice is yours..

  • farooqk says:

    you were kidding about going away?? πŸ˜›

  • SAWJ says:

    My blog is famous! πŸ˜‰

  • farooqk says:

    @sawj

    goes to show people really lack taste! πŸ˜›

  • SAWJ says:

    @farooqk: LOL, good one! πŸ˜€

  • muzna says:

    i think breaks are good.They are necessary in fact….help tremendously to break the monotony which creeps in every now and then….at least that is what happens with me:D

    take care till then πŸ™‚

  • karachiwali says:

    u take good care of urself…and we’d be waiting for your posts.
    btw, i am planning to do a series on muawiyah/yazid thing too. decided to stay quiet for a while cuz…well…u know why

  • An Illusion: Agreed! πŸ˜› Not to mention the excessively long comments…

    SAWJ & Farooq: You guys can stop patting each others back. Har har. It wasn’t *that* good.

    Muzna: Its also the time factor. As it is I have a BAD habit of procrastination and that doesn’t help when I need to study. Taking time off is like a mental break. πŸ˜› You also takecare, you run a blog?

    KW: πŸ™‚ You too, you know where to contact me. [FB, GMAIL, etc].

  • farooqk says:

    lol youre just jealous cause nobody pats you on the back! πŸ˜€

    so youre going away to give more time to your cat??!! πŸ˜‰

  • Me be jealous? Puhleeez.

    Are we back to the catty comments again?

    [For the real reason, see my reply to muzna].

  • farooqk says:

    thats just an excuse! i know what the reaaallll reason is! πŸ˜›

  • You know the ‘real reason’ & I myself dont??

  • karachiwali says:

    @ purple
    i sure will stay in touch πŸ™‚ i was planning to take a break too but then i decided otherwise.
    and yea, i have to write those posts. after all, the wrath was directed towards me πŸ˜›

  • falsa says:

    Take good care. πŸ™‚
    xoxox
    Falsa

  • farooqk says:

    life is strange πŸ˜›

  • SAWJ says:

    @KW and PD: Hey, decide who’s going to do the Yazeed/Muawiyyah thing. I thought I was the one! 😦

  • karachiwali says:

    hehehe….well dont u think we could all do our own versions and then link the posts together?

  • SAWJ, we were doing the ‘Sunni prespectives’.

    I’m out of blogging here these days soo…

    I just came back from a desert trip. Sighhh. It was fun! Alhamdulilah. :DD

  • farooqk says:

    desert safari?! its the bomb wese

  • lol, no not a desert safari. Already been on that three times, its boring now

    This was more of a ‘spiritual’ trip. πŸ˜‰

    Organised by one of the Islamic centers I attend here.

  • farooqk says:

    lol bara disco islamic centre hai!

    did you take your ‘cat’ with you? πŸ˜›

  • enough with the cat comments!!!

    lol, alhamdulilah, its a pretty cool place. Some of the most awesomest girls that I met and are now close friends with – I met there.

  • farooqk says:

    chicks huh?! any chance i can get in too?? πŸ˜‰

  • Most of them are hard-core Ninjas. πŸ˜‰ The gloves and all type.

  • SAWJ says:

    You think I was going to do the Shia perspective? πŸ˜›

  • farooqk says:

    @purple

    lol variety is the spice of life! πŸ˜›

    wese, since theyre ninjas, how do you know that theyre not boys that dress up & sound like girls!! πŸ˜€

  • Lol, you werent?? Well I think there still would be ‘differences’.

    Farooq: Duh! Because I get to see em silly. πŸ˜›

  • SAWJ says:

    I don’t know, I was planning from all-Sunni sources. πŸ™‚

    @farooqk: Maybe you should dress up like a Ninja to go see them? πŸ˜‰

  • lol, SAWJ, that would be interesting to see. Khair, I stilll to the fact that these topics cause nothing but fitnah… but my opinion I guess.

    Anyway, I hope this doesnt turn into making fun of Ninjas, because I’m a part-timer too!

    A lot of people use the term ‘Ninjas’ to poke fun at Niqaabis. Whenever someone says it, I don’t know if If I should be offended or not. :S

  • I guess I should *look* at the way the term is used… Once I got called a Ninja by these two stupid Kids, and it wasn’t so nice. 😦

  • SAWJ says:

    These topics don’t cause fitnah yar, something’s need to be clarified otherwise people keep falling into the trap of jaahil maulvis. If you ask me, these jaahil maulvis are the biggest fitnah of all. It’s because of them that every guy walking on the street practices a different version of Islam. And I don’t mean sects here, I literally mean that every guy has different concepts of God and Muhammad-o-Aal-e-Muhammad (S.A.W.W.).

    What we need is someone who has done much study on religion and stuff.

    And Ninjas are cool if you have the moves to go along with the kitting. πŸ˜‰

    Purdah is one of the most favorite things of Allah. Allah himself is in pardah!

  • farooqk says:

    if you get to see them then why are they in ninja suits in the first place?!! πŸ˜›

  • SAWJ, yes they do. Your blog post was err a beautiful example. LOL. I’m not even sure *you* read the crazily long comments. πŸ˜›

    I don’t believe in blind following either. And the reason why people have divided into differet sects and have different versions of Islam is because they’ve left the rope of Allah – The QurΓ‘n and Sunnah. Wa Allahu Aalam.

    Farooq: I dont get that? πŸ˜• They Γ‘ren’t ninja suits by the way!!! It’s Abaya & Niqaab. Get it?

    The reason why I can see them is because our Islamic centre is segregated, so obviously no body covers their faces then! dun dun dun… πŸ˜›

    Oh btw guys, I’m not repying to comments after this. I’m supposed to be taking time off here remember??? Not making blog posts in a post.

  • SAWJ says:

    Well I wanted to reply but you shut me up! πŸ˜€

  • farooqk says:

    lol rehnay do! abaya & nikaab are aka NINJA SUITS! πŸ˜€
    they dont cover their faces, so what if theyre guys with facial features like those of women, you know, very feminine boys???! dun dun dun dunnnnnnn…

  • Absar says:

    Heheh, yeah, filipinos are everywhere! Once I went to this traditional arab restaurant here with a friend, and we were greeted by a terha-merha Salam alaik that came from a filipino waitress dressed in an abaya and traditional arab nakora with heavy eye make-up πŸ˜›

  • noman amin says:

    “I stilll to the fact that these topics cause nothing but fitnah… but my opinion I guess.”

    “Well I think there still would be β€˜differences’. ”

    JazakAllah purpledrift. Being a sunni Muslim I whole heartily agree with you. Glad 2 know you did not disappoint me at all. May Allah give you courage to say truth and follow the righteous path.Ameen. It was really nice to communicate with you.

    Jazak Allahu Khair

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A little break at Her Writings.

meta

