The Woes of Life

March 7, 2009 § 46 Comments

It’s been a long, tiring but beneficial weekend. I’m utterly tuckered out, but would I do it again? Definetely!

I was just looking at my niece a few minutes back, she is 2 years old and I was telling  her she couldn’t have ice-cream because she was ill and hadn’t eaten her dinner. Looking at her made me want to be a child again. Children are so innocent, so carefree. But mostly, they have no responsibility, no accountability. No need to shoulder great burdens or deal with important matters in their lives. While we’re at a personal war with ourselves our whole existance. The tug between good and evil, the decisions, the constant checking of your feet so that they don’t step on the wrong side of the line.

It made me a realise a few not no nice things about me though and I’m hoping I manage to change them before I’m 6 Ft under the ground. Oh the internal struggle!

I’m so tired – and therefore the above might not really make sense because I’m literally falling asleep on my laptop. But who cares. It’s my blog and it’s ok if the only person who understands it is me. 😛

§ 46 Responses to The Woes of Life

  • Leena S. says:

    “It made me a realise a few not no nice things about me though and I’m hoping I manage to change them before I’m 6 Ft under the ground.”

    Something that I have been thinking a lot about for the past few days too….May Allah (SWT) help us and guide us in changing ourselves for the better

  • I never liked being a child… I dont know why, maybe cuz people treat you like you are so fragile, or maybe cuz people think that you are not fully capable of understanding the things they themselves are nt capable of comprehending. I learnt a lot of things when I was nine and understood them well, better than my grown ups thought I would have. Hell I learnt about most of the taboos in our lives earlier than most kids. But still I, and kids in general are underestimated. Children have a much better ability to learn and comprehend than most of their elders, and treat the information in a less biased manner, they always ask the right questions and are able to judge between right answers and the wrong answers, while none of the elders ever do. I think if many of the things were analyzed from the point of view of a child, we would have had solutions for them much earlier, unfortunately, views and thoughts of a minor are never heeded by anyone.

  • Absar says:

    Oh give the kids some credit! They have their own issues to deal with – like whose lap to pee in next. Or which TV show to interrupt with their relentless crying. Or.. well, you get the picture. 😉

  • Dude! You pee-ed in people laps till you were 10?

  • I meant dont underestimate their intellectual capacity.

  • Absar says:

    Dude, Saffi – learn to read! She was talking about her 2-year old niece and I was continuing that.

  • Ummi says:


    But those who reject (Allah) – for them will be the Fire of Hell: No term shall be determined for them, so they should die, nor shall its Penalty be lightened for them. Thus do We reward every ungrateful one!
    Therein will they cry aloud (for assistance): “Our Lord! Bring us out: we shall work righteousness, not the (deeds) we used to do!” – “Did We not give you long enough life so that he that would should receive admonition? and (moreover) the warner came to you. So taste ye (the fruits of your deeds): for the wrong-doers there is no helper.” (35:36-37)

    May Allah bless us.Ameen

  • Senilius says:

    It’s not really six feet under the ground. I checked and it was waist height. It’s easy to get out again. 😉

  • Senilius says:

    @Absar: Why the hell is Safi excited about your peeing?

  • @ Safi, Senilius and Absar: Err, this is not a guys blog. No talk about ‘peeing’ allowed here. Thanks. Have some respect! Ahem.

  • Leena S. says:

    can u guys just see wat u can do to a very serious topic of discussion! 😛

  • farooqk says:

    eena meena deeka 😀

  • @Absar: Abay chal na! You were the one to bring it up!!! Not me! I was happy with the intelligent children theory!

  • And get rid of this damn comment system!

  • Absar says:

    I’m with Saffi on this one… pata hi nahi chalta kon kidhar kya keh raha hai! 😛

    But Saffi.. I was talking about KIDS! 😛

    Oh, and PD, you’ve been chosen for the lemonade award! Cherish this moment! 😛

  • Absar & Saffi: Stop being big babies. Deal with the commenting system cuz’ its not going anywhere. 😛

    I think its utterly cool.

    Absar: Lemonade award?! lol. Thats new.

  • Absar says:

    Okay, then I guess you won’t mind me starting new comment threads instead of using the “Reply” option! Muahahahahaaa – *breathe* – muahahahahaaa!! 😛

    Yes, it is. I was a little confused when I got this one – I thought it was a practical joke or something. Which, if you really think about it, it really is 😛 Chalo, kuch aur nahi to it’ll give you something to do a new post with! 😛

  • absarshah says:

    Nah, you won’t use that – you’re way too nice for that 😛
    Yeah, we all know the same people around here, don’t we? 😛

  • Sophia Ali says:

    Very true….do not settle for anything less, just because you are being pressurized…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Woes of Life at Her Writings.

meta

