Thoughts on Swat happenings

June 15, 2009 § 13 Comments

I’m involved in one the relief organisations involved in sending relief to Swat and other IDP’s and therefore I’ve been keeping upto date with the situation currently happening in Pakistan.

And lets just say, I’m totally disgusted and appalled to hear that some of the cities are going to refuse to give government aid and/or let the IDP’s in their cities. What is wrong with people? Especially the ministers?

The Country is in absolute turmoil, this is one of the largest internal displacement in the World and its as if Pakistanis within Pakistan don’t care. And are more concerned about ethnicity and other such political separatist crap. Ugh!

Not to mention, I’ve personally gotten news that food sent by UN was taken in by people and is being sold outside the camps when the people inside are going hungry. How can anyone be so cruel?

Pakistanis need to come out of their crap hole of ethnicity and cultural issues.

I’m so pissed right now. In fact, you know what? I’m now happy i don’t have feelings of patriotism towards the Country. I’ve always felt apologetic about that. I’m glad I was born and brought up outside so I don’t have the cultural baggage that comes with being a Pakistani or the feeling of ethnic differences that children are brought up with since their young. It’s not like the Country doesn’t concern me, but at least I give justice and right where they are due instead of looking at things with a cultural or ethnic lens.

Tagged: , ,

§ 13 Responses to Thoughts on Swat happenings

  • farooqk says:

    its just that most ppl are driven by their insecurities, and we attempt to find strength in smaller sub-divisions such as ethnicity and what not. But that isnt essentially true to all here, i know loads of pakistan born individuals who could care less about bloodlines and the whole caboozle!

    the whole deal on ‘selling’ relief funds is insane, but its very very real. And we all just sit and watch!

  • Leena S. says:

    its something that i felt while working at an NGO here during the earthquake. it was sad..way tooo sad.

  • Absar says:

    I volunteered for the earthquake relief program, and the spirit of the people I saw around me (I come from Karachi) was intense! People.. middle class people, even lower class people bringing in entire pickups full of blankets, clothing, routine medication, anything they could get their hands on! But then I started hearing stories from my cousins who were doing volunteer work up North, and I felt betrayed.

    I’ve had too much of this. To be very honest, even the self-pity and complaining that comes out of it has become.. routine. There’s a reason why the spirit to come to the help of fellow Pakistanis has seeped out – and that is our history. Whenever you try to help someone, you get stabbed in the back. And now people just don’t want to take that chance, even when the problems being faced are very real. Because let’s face it – there will be opportunist bastards in this lot who will stab you in the back. And I don’t blame anyone for not taking that chance.

    But I guess if there is a chance that your efforts might affect someone who genuinely needs it (and who will genuinely respect it with his/her subsequent actions), then you should make an effort. Your intentions are in the right place, and that’s what’s going to matter for you as an individual.

  • Leena S. says:

    @ Absar
    just couldnt agree with you more and i guess thats the motivation behind for everyone actually working for the IDPs

  • I m starting to sound like a broken record to myself now, so I wont say anything on this. I think you know what I had to say so there is no point.

  • I just spoke to my friend in the relief camps, and she said it was a disaster. And our stupid retarded government is making it worse!!! I’m so angry right now, people are dying right, left and center and what they’re worried about is freaking ID CARDS. Ughhhhhhhhhhh.

    Sorry. I just needed to rant.

  • Thanks you all, for the input. Reading about other peoples experiences makes me feel better.

    And you know whats worse? How Pakistanis have this repuation of being corrupt… i’ve come across so many people who don’t want to donate money because they weren’t sure if it would actually go through.

    I want to kill, shoot and maim our government. *sigh*

  • Absar says:

    Am I the only person here with a wacky sense of humor? Where is SAWJ? I never though I’d miss him πŸ˜›

    Well, bibi sahiba is dead. But the world calls her bibi saahiba. There’s only one person who calls her bee bee shaahiba and puts her picture on the rostrum while addressing the UN πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Thoughts on Swat happenings at Her Writings.

meta

