The ranks of the Munaqabaat

August 10, 2009 § 18 Comments

I’ve done it. I’ve officially joined the ranks of the veiled – the Munaqabaat.

Alhamdulilah, after much thinking and much supplication to Allah that he gives me the strength to go through with this, I’ve finally taken the major step.

Unofficially I was a Niqaabi for the past two years. However, I was a non-relative Niqaabi, although I covered my face everywhere, I wouldn’t cover in front of my brother-in-laws or my [male] cousins.

I know it’s going to be difficult, considering one of my brother-in-law is staying over at our place for a while and especially when I visit Pakistan, but I’d reached a point where I felt guilty and the need to take another step up the ladder. Non-Mehram men are non-mehram after all. I’m hoping I can use Ramadan to strenghten myself in this step.

InshaAllah khayr, keep me in your du’as!

Verily, along with every hardship is relief. [5:94]

Tagged: ,

§ 18 Responses to The ranks of the Munaqabaat

  • farooqk says:

    at first i thought it was a ninja club! 😛

  • Absar says:

    Cool.

    By the way, I liked the earlier name of your blog better. Way better!

  • Ummi says:

    Congrats. MashaAllah you are 100% following Sharai Pardah. Wearing Scarf around head does not come under the category of Hijab prescribed by Quran and Sunnah.

    Don’t worry about the people who make fun of you. May Allah give you strength.Ameen

    If someone act like a moron then give such a hard punch that the person starts covering the face due to after effects of your punch 🙂

  • Alisha says:

    Masha Allah, what a huge step you’ve taken.Not showing your face to male cousins and brothers in law is quite difficult… I am totally impressed. 😀

  • Specs says:

    Cool. Purple Drifter’s my sister now 😉

    May Allah give you the maximum reward for this step.

    And Insha’Allah, it will get only easier. Its the hardest the first time. Then everyone starts taking it in their stride.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The ranks of the Munaqabaat at Her Writings.

meta

