Of Men, Chivalry and Cars

August 13, 2009 § 21 Comments

As a Woman who drives I’ve had quite a few interesting incidents on the road. Keep in mind though, I cover my face and one would think that probably prevents all sorts of unwanted-interesting things from happening, but they’re absolutely wrong.

I’ve been harrased on the roads twice seriously and that comes as a surprise simply because things like that don’t happen a lot over here as it is fairly safe to drive.

Anyway, the other day my friend and I were coming back from the mall and it was a bit late at night. We were being harrased by a car to stop, which in the process nearly banged into us. Usually I don’t think twice about driving late [around 11ish] or going to the supermarket [which is in our area] so late, but after that incident I’ve realised anything can happen and it’s always safe rather then be sorry.

The second time was at 9 AM in the morning and I was looking for my friends house because I had to pick her up. I was followed for about twenty minutes bumper to bumper until I pretended to call the police. The stupid jerk had a big goofy smile on his face as if he was doing something excessively nice. Or that I’d stop my car and give him my number.

The question comes into mind though, what makes Men follow Women? Or better yet, why would anyone follow a Niqabi? Heck, she could be a mother of 4!

But I’ve come into a realisation of sorts. There are two types of followers:

1 – The Fun/not-so-serious types – These guys would probably follow a Woman just for the sake of it. Or in the hopes of getting her number. They don’t actually mean serious harm and would probably go away after a while if you pretend to call the police or don’t show any interest.

2 – The crazy stalker types – Enough said. Dangerous to be around, if they follow you to your house, thats it. Avoid them at all costs, they probably wouldn’t mind hurting you, especially if they’re drunk. NEVER stop the Car with them. [As taught by my friend].

[Also, if you’re a Woman who has had crazy incidents, never tell your Parents until its serious otherwise you’ll be banned from driving. Ahem. I know if I tell mine, my Mom will find excuses for me not to drive out alone.]

Enough with all the male-bashing. As a Woman I’ve also come across chivalrous Men on the roads. Most of the time, the Men tend to give me way, stop for me and are very polite. Not to mention, if anything goes wrong I just need to get out of the Car and look upset and help will be on the way. πŸ˜›

The other day, I was gone for a lecture and while leaving, I had to take the car out of a parking lot and behind me was the oncoming road. I was waiting for the car that was coming in to pass, but the Man stopped his car instead, switched his head-lights off and patiently waited for me to take the car out and leave.

And today, whilst dropping my Cousin off to the airport, I wasn’t shooed away by the Police Man like everyone else was and I knew it had to do with the fact that I was a Woman and a Niqaabi. πŸ˜› Once I drove right over the wrong way and a Police Man was crossing the same street. He turned, looked and then went forward ignoring the incident. So to a certain extent, Chivalry still exists.

On the other hand, I get stared at a lot by tourists. I thought it was only me at first but when my Dad mentioned it, I’ve realised its because they don’t expect a fully covered Woman to be driving. There is a certain relish in breaking stereotypes.

I once suggested to my Dad to get the car tinted, but if i insist too much I know he’ll get suspicious that something must’ve happened.

Tagged: , ,

§ 21 Responses to Of Men, Chivalry and Cars

  • AD says:

    since u r now aware of the few of that kind.
    lemme share wid u what i just learned

    in the many kinds of love that exist,
    Ludus is love that’s a game. A Ludic lover wants to have fun, but doesn’t necessarily want a serious relationship.

    haha… happy learning!

    and yes indeed… being woman is…………
    blah but I like to keep my stiletto in my hand and beat when i wanna!

    • PD says:

      Ah, then Ludic Lovers should be kept away at a very wide distance. Unless you’re a Ludic yourself. πŸ˜‰

      If only I wore stilettos, but I’m one of those rare Women who don’t know the art of walking in them. Not to mention being naturally tall doesn’t require them much. Although I definitely should carry a sharp object with me.

  • farooqk says:

    lol get a pepper spray!

    put up a little sticker behind your car that says ‘tahhariyaat’, that should rid you of stalkers, or maybe not! πŸ˜›

    • PD says:

      I should get the pepper spray. But I don’t know where you find them here… Khair, I’ll search.

      And I really doubt that would stop the desperate people from being stalkers. πŸ˜›

  • Yousuf says:

    Enough with all the male-bashing. As a Woman I’ve also come across chivalrous Men on the roads. <– bauhut achey, enough keh ker phir se bashing .. that is NOT fair. 😦

    on behalf of all man kind … kaatti (2 year old style)

    on behalf of all mind kind again … if we dont do these stupid things, how would we make you girls happy πŸ˜€ .. you know .. self esteem shelf esteem πŸ˜›

    • Ummi says:

      Do you mean that every man on earth should ignore every other woman on earth? Don’t you think women will still complain? πŸ˜›

      • PD says:

        I never meant that obviously, just dont chase Women in cars while they’re driving! It’s very scary actually, and I speak from personal experience. I don’t like playing dodge cars when I’m driving.

        Why is it that Men keep on blaming Women for their own faults?? Be man enough and admit its a fault. πŸ˜›

    • PD says:

      Yousuf: I wasn’t bashing in that sentence… in fact saying that [some] Men are chivalrous is a compliment. πŸ˜›

      And that is just an excuse ever Man gives… just blame it all on the Women!

  • Absar says:

    if anything goes wrong I just need to get out of the Car and look upset and help will be on the way

    It’s women like you who make it a hard decision for me when to make a stand and when to just let it go πŸ˜› YOU!!!! YOU!!! πŸ˜›

  • Absar says:

    We were, what else were we talking about?

    Lol! Well, you can start fumbling with your hands and darting your eyes in different directions!

    Or, if all else fails, take a small remote in your hand, raise it high above your head, and scream “Allah o Akbar!!”… that’ll send them running right off! πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Of Men, Chivalry and Cars at Her Writings.

meta

