The End of Ramadaan & Procrastinating

September 26, 2009 § 4 Comments

The free time I had during Ramadan I would spend reading the Qurán. I wouldn’t let moments go to waste. Not like now, where I’m procrastinating again. Satan is truly back out. If I want to be Ahl of the Qurán I know I need to get my act straight. The whispering and desire of the nafs within our ownselves is deadly and it is something the Prophet sallalahu ‘alayhi wasallam feared for his Ummah.

The example of the one who follows his/her own desire in the Qurán is that of a dog:

And had We willed, We would surely have elevated him therewith but he clung to the earth and followed his own vain desire. So his parable is the parable of a dog: if you drive him away, he lolls his tongue out, or if you leave him alone, he (still) lolls his tongue out. Such is the parable of the people who reject Our Ayât (proofs, evidences, verses, lessons, signs, revelations, etc.). So relate the stories, perhaps they may reflect (7:176)

I missed another class on Thursday and I got it from one of my teachers. Well she didn’t exactly shout or anything, we’re too old for that but she told me in clear words I needed to start being more serious. Laziness is so me. The sad part is, I know I have potential to exceed but when I don’t combine that with hard work I’m going to be lagging behind. When it comes to Islamic knowledge, you need to be steadfast and constant otherwise its difficult.

They say what you earn from the Quran is according to what you want to earn and how much effort you put into it. Some people are misguided by reading the Qurán while others better their Imaan and earn hidaya.

On the whole, it’s not about passing the course either, it’s about me as a person and how I want to better myself in terms of ilm.

I’ve been tampering with the idea of starting hifdh... the idea was a bit out of this world before, but now… not so much. I’ll have a few months free in between the time I finish this course and before my Summer semester at University starts. Lets see… Allah truly knows best.

I had the pleasure of meeting an abnormal girl who had memorised the Qurán. She has fits and shes constantly in a state of jerky movement. If she can do it, then we, with all her senses and our hands and feet and sight working normally can do it too. I was also linked to this video which really touched me.

It’s about a little girl called Bara’ah who is very very ill and in the hospital, but she is a hafidha of the Qurán. And her voice is beautiful. She calls the Shaykh on his show and in this video he gives her a lot of  dua so that she may get well soon and he gets emotional too. I’m not sure what disease it is, but I think its a serious one like cancer. May Allah subhanna wa ta’ala give her shifa. Her voice is exceptionally touching.

§ 4 Responses to The End of Ramadaan & Procrastinating

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The End of Ramadaan & Procrastinating at Her Writings.

meta

