The beginning of the End

October 17, 2009 § 15 Comments

When I first started this Taleem Al-Qurán course nearly a year ago it felt as if I had a lot of time on my hands. A year and a half seemed a long time away but time just tends to fly by.

6 Months & 10 more Juz’ to go.

In the next few days I finish my 19th Juz of the Qurán and that will start my official countdown to the end. I’ve come to realise 6 months isnt a long time, time just tends to fly by and you don’t even realise it.

I’ve come to love studying the Qurán, its Tafseer, come to love my environment, come to love the deep attachment I’ve developed with the Qurán. In the next 6 months I’ll complete the whole Tafseer of the Qurán and Arabic Grammar including some other Fiqhi books bi’idhnillah. I’m so glad I’ve done this course, alhamdulilah, its increased my in knowledge and thought me so many things. I felt as if I was reading the Qurán for the first time in my life although it was a book I’ve opened for so many years with and without translations.

The question that comes to mind is, how many years do we dedicate of our lives studying the beloved book of Allah subhanna wa ta’ala compared to the amount of years we spend studying and earning dunya? How much ilm of our own deen do we have compared to the ilm we strive for of the dunya?

On the day of Judgment the Prophet sallalahu alayhi wasallam will be a witness against those who have left the Qurán wrapped in cloth on their highest shelves and only take it out on weddings or funerals:

وَقَالَ ٱلرَّسُولُ يَـٰرَبِّ إِنَّ قَوۡمِى ٱتَّخَذُواْ هَـٰذَا ٱلۡقُرۡءَانَ مَهۡجُورً۬ا

‘And the Messenger will say: O my Lord! Verily, my people deserted this Qur’ân!’

[Surah Al Furqan – 30]

It’s been a beautiful journey, a journey of light and guidance, a journey of attaining sacred knowledge [although my knowledge is still a drop in the ocean] and love and fear and understanding. A journey of gaining the pleasure of Allah and actually recognising my creator. My only regret is that in these two years that I took off to the study the Qurán is that I didn’t start hifdh side-by-side. I almost feel as if I was cocooned in a protected environment of nothing but goodness.

I’m scared though. I don’t want it to end. I don’t want the sweetness in my heart to die, i don’t want my Imaan to go do low on the scale. And a part of me is afraid, how will I deal with the Qur’an after this? The attractions and attachment of dunya is deadly and so is your own nafs. It’ll be going back to secular education after this, back to a co-ed environment and being caught up with dunya. Maybe not to such a large extent but it won’t be like these moments now.

Seeking and attaining ílm of the deen comes with a responsibility – that of spreading further and secondly, anything you do wrong, after knowing its consequences fully will have double the punishment.

Will I be able to fulfill this responsibility? Will I be able to give the Qurán it’s haqq?

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 15 Responses to The beginning of the End

  • anas imtiaz says:

    I wish I’ll be able to study Quran in detail in some day. Of course, the first step is my own willingness to do so, which I feel is still not as much as the willingness to do worldly things – which is a shame 😦

    You can continue sharing some of the knowledge here on the blog which can perhaps motivate others to the right path. Inshallah.

    • PD says:

      Where there is a will, there is a way. So InshaAllah, you never know. Although yes, the sincerity/willingness should be genuine, thats the only way you actually attain the full benefit from it. 🙂

      InshaAllah, I plan to! Esp. when I revise & review [And hopefully Ill get time in the future once Im done with the course to do so].

  • farooqk says:

    you’re gonna be a famous aalima soon! ppl will have to take appointments to speak to you 😛

    you’re like the people we read about in books and watch in movies, and wonder if they really exist, or if we could ever be like them. Needless to say, im sure youll do justice to your gift, inshallah. 😀

    • PD says:

      Im not becoming an Aaalimaaa! :@ Not even close – I’m just a student of knowledge and even that title is so heavy that I don’t think I do it justice.

      And totally not yaar, im just normal – just like everyone else.

      InshaAllah – keep me in your duas!

      • farooqk says:

        aalimas are supposed to be humble too, hence your response. 😛

        • PD says:

          ufff its not like that! For an aalima or aalim you need to have a basic study of 4 years at least, not to mention, after that you need to study the traditional way with different shyookh & thats just a start. 😛

          I’ve just done like a minsicule of what needs to be done to become an aalima.

  • Huda says:

    You shall definately share knowledge with us, just like Anas requested. After all, knowledge is power. 🙂

    and oh, I absolutely love the picture. Did you take it?

    • PD says:

      inshaAllah..

      Guys, i didnt take the picture! If you click on it it shall take you to the source, lol, i don’t want to be sued for copyright. 😛

  • H says:

    You’re doing Taleem al Quran!? Omg, I can’t tell you how many times I’ve started that course and left in the middle, or more like after the first and second juz :(. Pray I start again!
    I love the picture too! 😀

    • PD says:

      If you ever get the chance to do it, do it inshaAllah. If you can’t attend the classes I think they might have a correspondence thing too? But classes are totally different. Its like a day in/day out thing.

      And thanks, but its not mine. 😛 [the picture]

  • Specs says:

    Hey, I did the Taleem-ul-Quran and that was only a year long. :S

    Try to keep in touch with your fellows from the course; nothing like that to keep your emaan fresh, Insha’Allah. 🙂

    • PD says:

      I spoke to some of the previous batches over here and they said they did it for a year too but now they’ve increased it to one and a half year.

  • Sophi says:

    JazakAllah….I wish i could ever go for such course. I have many Tafasirs at home but you know it’s always difficult to make a routine.

    Start spreading what you have learnt and teach me first. I need it most 🙂

    • PD says:

      Oh i know what you’re talking about. Its really difficult for me to make a study-routine at home, regardless of it being whatever Im studying.

      Yes, I plan to inshaAllah. 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The beginning of the End at Her Writings.

meta

