Thursday Ramblings

October 29, 2009 § 24 Comments

I love Thursdays. Thursdays are ‘lets-relax’ days for me, the beginning of the weekend. I usually end up spending Thursday curled in bed with a book or the laptop with a cup of tea catching up with ‘things’ unless I’ve got plans. Anyway, I promised myself a blog post on Thursday and here it is.

Currently nothing majorly interesting is happening in my very uninteresting life, but anyay, if you’re still interested: πŸ˜›

  • The IPhone Update

My brother bought me the IPhone 3GS. It’s sleek, its beautiful and if you’re a gadget lover you’ll love this. I’m currently still getting the hang of it and its been distracting me for the past two days. I got the package from Du, but the silly people haven’t activated my SIM yet so I need to go tomorrow morning to get it checked.

  • The health-freak update

Okay, okay, most of you hear me ranting about gaining weightΒ  a lot and probably think, ‘Another of those Women things which women don’t stop talking about’. However, this time I’ve seriously put on a few extra kgs & although being nearly 5’8′ has the advantage of the extra weight not showing, I know its there! In the end, for me its not even about the weight, but more about feeling light and healthy. I hate it when I stop eating healthy, its almost as if I can hear my body groaning.

Been considering the gym again, but i’ve realised there are some obstacles in the way [Like how the Camry isn’t mine yet…] so I’ll leave that. However, my sister and I have started walking in the nearby park though & I’m hoping thats a good start.

  • The Studies update

I finish my 20th Juz of the QurΓ‘n on Sunday inshaAllah. That makes it 9 more to go. The more towards the end I come the more I’m freaking out. I’m scared. I haven’t done enough. I don’t want to leave the protected environment I’m currently in.

May Allah subhanna wa ta’ala make it easier for me and give me the tawfique to spread the deen forward. Ameen.

It’ll be to Uni after this & although I’ll be behind two years it really doesn’t matter in the end. Am I looking forward to it? I don’t know anymore… I’ve gotten so used to being among people of the same mentalitiy and the same wave-length that I know it’s going to be a bit difficult to go back into a secular and co-ed environment. That’ll be the real test.

Studying the QurΓ‘n is a beautiful inexplainable experience. It’s not something you can describe but something you have to experience on your own. Just the thought that these are the words of Allah azza wa jal, a miracle on its own, tends to affect you.

  • The Marriage update

If anybody else asks me when I’m getting married again, I’m seriously going to loose it. Seriously.

  • Breast-Cancer

This month was Breast Cancer month. Breast Cancer has taken the lives of a lot of Women and Men and its a deadly disease since a lot of Women and Men don’t tend to find out till the end. The Mother of my closest friend who is almost like a Sister to me found out she had breast cancer a couple of months ago. After going through a lot of chemotheraphy treatments she looked a bit better during Ramadan but come Eid she looked utterly tired.

She’d lost her hair and I don’t know why this particular thing caught my attention. Maybe its because older Pakistani Women tend to have long hair and they keep it like that, especially if they’re Mothers/Grandmothers.

After Eid they went to get her check-ups done and found out that her breast cancer had moved to her brain and has been growing there for a while. She went for brain surgery day before yesterday and is currently in the ICU right now.

Please keep her in your duas, the doctors still haven’t said what her survival chances are, but inshaAllah I hope Allah azza wa jal grants her shifa and heals her.

  • The Weather

Coolness is in the air and the winds tease with the promise of coming Winter. I love it when the breeze brushes against me and the leaves rustle when I’m in the garden. It’s not too hot and its pleasantly cool. Sigh. I love this weather.

O Autumn, laden with fruit, and stained
With the blood of the grape, pass not, but sit
Beneath my shady roof; there thou mayest rest
And tune thy jolly voice to my fresh pipe,
And all the daughters of the year shall dance!
Sing now the lusty song of fruits and flowers.


William Blake

And.. thats all for now. πŸ™‚

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 24 Responses to Thursday Ramblings

  • farooqk says:

    all the burger kids are buying iphones. πŸ˜›

    not going to ask you when youre getting married, cause i already know its next month. πŸ˜€

    May your friend’s mom get back to her old healthy self soon, and may God protect us all from seeing such difficult times. Ameen.

    December 1st is happy aids day. πŸ˜€

    and the winter sucks. you feel so lazy you want to sleep all day. but then thats how you are all year round! muahaha

    • PD says:

      IPhones is NOT a burger thing. Everything is burger to you!

      And, uhm, I don’t know when I’m getting married but you do?

      Ameen.. shes better alhamdulilah. πŸ™‚

      I am NOT lazy all year around! πŸ˜› [Just sometimes]

  • Sophi says:

    Congtratz on Iphone πŸ™‚

    Thank God u are with me in the line. I thought i were the only one lamenting on my weigh gain πŸ˜€ Let’s walk!!

    When are you getting married PD? πŸ˜›

    I pray that your frd’s mother gets well soon. One of my colleagues had breast cancer two years before. It was painful to see her passing through different stages of therapy. She is mashAllah fine now. And your frd’s mom will also be fine inshAllah.

    I also love winters πŸ™‚

    • PD says:

      Thanks. Its nice! πŸ™‚

      Okay I’ve started walking with my sister, so its nice. Missed yesterday though, i hope we keep it a routine. I REALLY need to re-loose weight. 😦 Not to mention, im so out of stamina these days.

      Oh, subhanAllah, may Allah give her shifa. I’m glad to know she is better alhamdulilah, cancer is a deadly disease.

      Who doesn’t love Winters? πŸ˜€

  • Full Moon says:

    Oye hoye!
    My new iPhone buddy! ❀

  • Sophi says:

    OH :O have I mistakenly come to another blog instead of PD’s?

  • Leena S. says:

    oye huey iphone! im coming to dubai next month, treat ho jaye πŸ˜›
    and girl, u do know how lucky you are that u were actually able to leave everything to be able to read and try to understand it, i just hope i can now get the time to do that too
    *prayers for your friend’s mom*

  • H says:

    Everyone’s getting an iPhone except me. I need to do something about that.

  • qa says:

    Your brother is generous.

    😦

  • I’m tempted to ask about the M word πŸ˜‰

    Prayers for ur friend’s mother .. chemotherapy is probably the harshest treatment .. May she gets well soon Amen.

  • Haris Gulzar says:

    I tried subscribing to your blog but it cannot figure out the title and keeps on saying “title unknown”. Although it is updating me with the posts :-).

    Nice blog I must say. Prayers for your friends mom. May Allah SWT give shifa to her Insha-Allah. Ameen

    • PD says:

      Thanks πŸ™‚

      Hmm I have no idea why it’s doing that. :S

      JazakAllah khayr for the duas & Ameen. Shes on her road to recovery alhamdulilah.

  • SoulSeek says:

    Assalamu Alaikum,

    Nice blog, shame it’s in wordpress . . migrate over to blogspot πŸ˜‰

    You will grow to lurve your iPhone, especially with awesome apps such as iPray and iQur’an, push emails, facebook and an apps for almost anything and everything!

    Ah the awesome weight dilemma! The general rule of thumb is 90% unprocessed foods. Naturally you will feel better and lose weight as a result. Pair that up with some resistance training (or walking in your case) you will feel so much better and active. Yes that means no salan and roti every day πŸ™‚

    I can definitely relate to your experience. I took up tafseer classes 5 days a week in addition to Uni. Whilst it’s difficult keeping ‘the balance’ it’s brought a sense of understanding that I was lacking in my life. An aspect which you must experience yourself in order to the understand the feeling. We just managed to finish Al- Ara’af a couple of days back just in time for our teacher to go hajj!

    Marriage [Sigh/Drop bombs/Sabr/Rage] I think my story says it all πŸ˜€

    • PD says:

      Wa Alaykumsalam,

      haha, I acutally had one on blogspot for quite a while but then I started disliking it [mostly the blogger writing interface among other things] so I made the move to wordpress. Don’t think I’ll be moving back. [InshaAllah!]

      Yours is pretty cool itself, if not highly interesting. πŸ˜› [and entertaining].

      I’m already addicted to my IPhone which in the long term, isn’t good at all. Especially with the Twitter and FB apps. Oh and I’m hoping I get around to jailbreaking it soon enough.

      lol @ Salan and roti. A couple of months back I was really happy, i was actually cooking for myself, going to the gym regularly and watching what I eat. I loved myself back then. 😦 Now I just need to get back into routine.

      Oh I totally get what you mean by an understanding coming into your life. It’s something we lack badly usually but don’t realise it until we actually gain the knowledge of the Qur’an. It’s almost an empty void you never knew existed within you that is filled.

      lol @ the marriage comment. We’re in different boats though [I’m really not looking fwd to getting hitched anytime soon] but I love your stories! πŸ˜€ At times I feel bad for reading them for entertainment reasons – I really hope though you both find the ‘one’ pretty soon and are around still on blogger to blog about it! πŸ˜›

  • SoulSeek says:

    Bleh, I never got round to responding. I know, I know . . I’ve been busy (no blags)!

    You jailbroke it yet? Cydia/Installous is just too awesome πŸ™‚

    I’ve got so many stories to share but not enough time to spare. In all honesty I blame the current proposal, we’ve put approximately over 300 questions to each other (I know!) O.O and she’s doing a degree in English so she loves to write essays! (yay :))

    • PD says:

      I still havent jailbroken… something went wrong with it so i had to go give it to get it fixed, will do it when i get time now though.

      Oooh! Nice! May Allah make it work out inshallah if its for the best. πŸ˜›

      And English degree is good, im a fan myself.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Thursday Ramblings at Her Writings.

meta

